Juice Rant

Maureen pulls out her soapbox, climbs up and clears her throat.

First off I want to stress that I do not work for or represent any juice extractor or juice supplement. You won’t see me on TV selling juicers and extolling their virtues. So when I recommend some juice you can be sure it is not so I can sell you a juicer to fix the problem. Second, juicing is not a miracle cure. People are not going to lay down their crutches and walk away from the shrine of the juice extractor. The blind won’t see and those with Parkinson’s disease won’t be still.  Don’t laugh. I have seen some “juice seminars” that resembled church meetings far more than appliance demonstrations.

Sure personal anecdotes can make riveting and powerful testimonials but do we know for sure they are real? Can we rely on the people who claim them to be truthful? Would you believe some people make up stories or exaggerate for the attention? I know some do because I have caught them at it and it never ceases to amaze me how some people can convince themselves that they are being truthful. It is very easy to cure yourself of a disease when you never had the disease to begin with.

I’m not saying that wonderful things don’t happen in this world just to be suspicious when someone lays claim to the miraculous. Or when they have cured themselves of a large number of disorders. I seem to add a new problem to my medical history every time I visit my doctor but I have yet to cure myself of any of them. Has nutrition improved my life? Without a doubt yes. For a large number of Americans nutrition has even saved lives. Just keep your BS meter tuned and cultivate a healthy skepticism. Remember powerful emotions can override our logical minds when we get caught up in the moment. Then, when we take possession of the  $300 machine the next week, we wonder what possessed us to spend so much on something that will never leave the appliance garage.

